Wallace Books

Image

Small, independent bookstores have always been special to me. I discovered Wallace Books in Portland’s Westmoreland neighborhood last fall. When I went in, it felt like I’d stepped into Holly’s bookstore in Charles de Lint’s books. The little yellow house is jam-packed with books—new and used–floor to ceiling and overflowing into boxes and bins on the floor. I asked the guy behind the cash register whether they had Laini Taylor’s latest book, Daughter of Smoke and Bonewhich had just come out, and they did.

Image

Laini Taylor combines elements from different ancient stories and myths and gives them a new twist. Her plots are complex, and her writing is gorgeous. Her blog on writing, “Not for Robots,” helped me tremendously as a writer. Her next book is due out this fall, and I’ll be buying my copy at Wallace Books if they have it in stock. I’d be in there all the time if it was anywhere close to my house.

It’s on Southeast Milwaukie Ave., about 3 blocks south of the Moreland Theater; check it out!

2 responses to “Wallace Books

  1. ellie lives in milwaukie–don’t know how to send her this from you blog so will send her your blog address and e-mail address by e-mail.

Leave a Reply

