Earth Hour 2010

It was the end of the pay period and when I got off work last night, there was barely enough time before Earth Hour to eat a quick supper and round up some candles and get them lit. Then it was time, and I turned off all the lights. I planned to spend the hour in sitting meditation for the well-being of the planet, but I wandered around in the dim candlelight, peering out my windows to see whether any other people on my street had turned off their lights. Two other houses had; everywhere else, porch lights were on and windows were lit up. But I knew the lights in downtown Portland were off and that the state capitol would be dark as well.

I sat down to meditate. The candles I’d lit were beautiful, and I got up again to light some incense. I was having trouble settling down–maybe a little chant would help me get focused. “Sachara Chara Para Purna, Shivoham, Shivoham…” and I got quiet at last.

It was my third Earth Hour. Every year, around the globe, more and more cities and countries join to put aside their conflicts and come together for that one hour in an alchemy of hope and unity.  At the end of the hour, I didn’t turn the lights on right away. The candlelight was lovely and bathed my tiny house in a warm, cozy glow. Maybe I’ll light them again tonight and have another earth hour all by myself.

Prompted by Sunday Scribblings: Alchemy

8 responses to “Earth Hour 2010

  1. “Alchemy of hope and unity” — lovely and inspired post.

  2. sounds lovely 🙂

  3. I for one truly hope that your “Alchemy of hope and unity” comes to pass.

  4. Beautiful, I concur one step at a time is the way to do it!

  5. How lovely and hopeful this is!

  6. Once every 365 is just not enough. Those that care can have their earth hour every day. It just needs more people that care.

    Beautiful post.

  7. What a wonderful way to celebrate.

    peace,
    JP/deb

  8. Thomma Lyn beat me to it – that line is great. Beautiful thoughts and feelings. And I can just imagine your house in candlelight. There’s something magical there..Jae (thanks for your visit)

Leave a Reply

