Coming up for air

I’m about halfway through the fourth draft of my novel and hope to have this latest version done by the end of the month. It’s going well, I think. I don’t know how many work-throughs it will take; each time, after I put it aside for a few months, I find new places that need serious improvement.

I will be posting for Sunday Scribblings again when this draft is finished.

I’m still working full-time at the job that pays the bills, but I’ve been 32 years in an occupation that is fast becoming obsolete due to automation and outsourcing. Spending all my spare time on my novel helps me avoid thinking about this, but it’s time to start considering what to do next. I want to write, and ideas can’t be outsourced. Brainstorming is in order, and I will have to chisel away the calcific deposits that have formed around my brain from working the same kind of job for so many years and start “thinking outside the box.”

One response to “Coming up for air

  1. That happens to me too. Just this week I realized Shadowfy inn isn’t really an inn—it’s a sort of group home.

Leave a Reply

