Dorothy Day

She looks so small just sitting there on her folding stool and the police looming over her with their guns and clubs are twice her size. I wonder what she was feeling right then. She was 76 and it wouldn’t be the first time, or the second, that she was hauled off to jail–was it old hat to her by now, or was she terrified every single time? She sits up straight; she doesn’t back down. She could have coined that phrase “Feel the fear and do it anyway” herself.

Photo by Bob Fitch

Prompted at Sunday Scribblings:  Brave

8 responses to “Dorothy Day

  1. I had to google her but I’ve added her autobiography to my wishlist. Fascinating lady 🙂

  2. I have known women like this, stubborn, willing to face down just about any threat to achieve their goals. Your post is very crisply written, a pleasure to read. And thank you for visiting and commenting on my poem.

  3. Fantastic image and account. I am going to look Dorothy Day up now (I am afraid to say I have not heard of her before) Thanks Jae

  4. Whenever I look at this photo (we have an original print of it in our house), it often strikes me that Dorothy is looking at the policemen as a concerned grandmother might be looking at her grandchildren when things were getting a bit out of hand.

    The photographer, by the way, is Bob Fitch.

  5. Hello

    I’ve just uploaded two rare interviews with the Catholic activist Dorothy Day. One was made for the Christophers [1971]–i.e., Christopher Closeup– and the other for WCVB-TV Boston [1974].

    Day had begun her service to the poor in New York City during the Depression with Peter Maurin, and it continued until her death in 1980. Their dedication to administering to the homeless, elderly, and disenfranchised continues with Catholic Worker homes in many parts of the world.

    Please post or announce the availability of these videos for those who may be interested in hearing this remarkable lay minister.

    They may be located here:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/4854derrida

    Thank you

    Dean Taylor

  6. It’s a joy to see the interview. Thank you. I’m now at work revising the biography of Dorothy (Love is the Measure) that I wrote a few years after her death. This kind of new resource is a great help.

    At the center of Dorothy’s life were the works of mercy. I’ve just put together a folder of artwork relating to that theme:

    Works of Mercy set (18)

    And here is a folder of Dorothy/Catholic Worker images:

    CW logo

    Jim Forest

Leave a Reply

