Came close to having a relapse

I had the day off and spent most of it reading (more like devouring) Margaret Atwood’s new book, The Year of the Flood. I’ve been following her blog about being on tour for the book while I waited to get my own copy. There’s a lot about eating in the book and in the blog. The characters in the novel belong to an eco-religion called “God’s Gardeners;” they’re vegetarians. I am completely sucked in by her book and it’s very hard to put down.  This is my favorite author and it has been years since her last book was published. I am not one of those people who can dole out an especially delicious read one chapter at a time, to make it last.

The whole time I was reading today, I longed to go whole-hog and be stuffing myself at the same time.  Putting the book down to eat lunch and supper (I skipped breakfast altogether) was hard. Not eating while reading a book that grabbed me and wouldn’t let go felt like going through withdrawal. I did it anyway, not eating, that is, mostly because I have committed myself to write this blog every day for the thirty days of September and I didn’t want to have to post, “I gorged myself while I spent the day sprawled on the couch reading and now I’m paying the price–I have terrible indigestion.”

I’m full now, but comfortably so; I had an especially delicious Maryhill peach with yogurt, and I mixed some cardamom powder into the yogurt. It would have been a real waste to eat that without tasting it!

Leave a Reply

