Trying to relax

Today I kept checking for tense muscles while eating. With each bite, my neck and shoulder muscles would tense up; I think it must be a reaction to chewing. I’d consciously relax and then it would happen all over again with the next bite, and I would relax again. I did this over and over during breakfast and lunch. Then tonight while I was having a bowl of rice noodle soup and tofu and vegetables, I noticed that I wasn’t tensing up. I was relaxed and comfortable. I kept checking in with myself–have I had enough yet?  I left some soup in the bowl and put it aside to mix with tomorrow’s dog food. That way we’ll all have something to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

