Twenty days

into this month-long experiment, the novelty is wearing off and though when I eat, I do nothing but eat–no reading or being distracted by the computer or TV, my mind keeps spinning off on its own tangents. I’ll catch myself in mid thought and realize that I haven’t been aware of the last several bites. It seems to be happening more, or maybe it’s been going on from the beginning and I’m just noticing it more.

I’ve bought a book, Mindful Eating, by Jan Chozen Bays, MD, and am going to start reading it to keep myself focused on eating mindfully until it becomes a habit. They say it takes 30 days to establish a habit, but my other habit of zoning out with food is so entrenched, it looks like it’s going to take me longer than that.

Leave a Reply

