Pausing

The Tricycle Book Club’s current selection is Pema Chodron’s new book, Taking the Leap, and I drove over to Powell’s to get the book so I can begin reading it before the discussion starts Monday. Pema Chondron suggests pausing often during the day for just a few seconds to notice our breath and turn off the continuous stream of thought. I’ve been taking that pause whenever I remember, and this morning, during breakfast of yogurt with sliced peaches and granola, I stopped eating to pause every three or four bites. I had eaten only about two-thirds of the meal the last time I paused, and I was about to continue eating when I realized that I was now satisfied. So I stopped and put the bowl in the refrigerator to finish another time. When I began this practice just thirteen days ago, I was so disconnected from my stomach that I couldn’t tell whether I felt full or not. Now I’m starting to feel reconnected.

Leave a Reply

