Day 10

Ten days of this experiment have been enough for me to know that I want to make a habit of eating this way. Food savored and eaten with attention leaves me feeling satisfied and full of appreciation. The way I usually eat, watching a movie, reading a book, or going on the Internet, chewing mindlessly all the while, does not satisfy my taste buds and I’ll be heading for the refrigerator right afterwards, looking for something else to eat–dessert maybe? ¬†Sometimes I make myself wait for 15 or 20 minutes to see if a delayed feeling of fullness kicks in. It usually does and I end up full but without any feelings of satisfaction. These have been ten days of discovery, about both myself and about food. They say, “You are what you eat.” I’m expanding that to “I am how I eat.”

Leave a Reply

