Rain

IMG_0109_1

I’m sitting on the front porch watching the water stream down the rain chain in a happy, splashing cascade. The rain chain makes a tinkling sound, and the wind chime sounds like bells, backed by the rhythm of the rain hitting the ground. Water music!

I’m eating an almond butter sandwich with sliced banana and strawberry jam. The almond butter is unsalted and bland; it needed that strawberry jam. I was very generous with the jam, and it squishes out with every bite, getting all over my hands. I keep stopping to lick jam off my fingers. I gaze out at the front yard. I have red roses, cone flowers, black-eyed susans, and bright blue balloon flowers. The rain waters all the parched areas of my spirit, and I feel a deep connection with everything around me. I have never felt connected to my food. I take another sweet, gooey bite and give thanks for this opportunity to connect with the food I take into my body as well as my surroundings.

Leave a Reply

