The Moon Reflected in a Drop of Water

I listened to Enkyo Roshis seventh dharma talk today as part of Tricycle Magazines Big Sit meditation challenge. Im ready to make some changes, so I signed up to sit every day for 90 days instead of Lent this year and will be continuing after the 40 days of Lent are over. The weekly online talks are on the Genjokoan, written in 1233 by Dogen and included in the Big Sit issue of Tricycle so we can study it.

I started reading, and was almost ready to give up before I even started. This strange, paradoxical discourse is mostly incomprehensible to me though Roshis talks give me a hintsort of. But every now and then theres a paragraph that I just love, like todays.

Enlightenment is like the moon reflected on the water.  The moon does not get wet, nor is the water broken. Although its light is wide and great, the moon is reflected even in a puddle an inch wide. The whole moon and the entire sky are reflected in dewdrops on the grass, or even in one drop of water. 

This I can understand; its like those rare moments when Im taking a walk at night after a storm, seeing the moon and the whole sky reflected in the puddles. In that instant, everything comes together and I feel this vast interconnectedness. I love that part about the whole moon and the entire sky in a dewdrop.

Roshi said that there is another translation saying that the moon and sky are nestled in the drop of water, and that the moon lies in the heart of a beginning Zen student as well as in the heart of the Zen master. Yes, I thought, and in the heart of a renegade Catholic like me.  

Leave a Reply

