Sunday, March 29, Portland, Oregon

Last night was Earth Hour 2009. I finished my work shift at 7:30 and  gathered up all the candles I had.  I decided to meditate during the first half of the hour, so I put down my rug and sage-green Zafu cushion, lit all the candles, turned off the lights, and sat. Jilly the Corgi and Kieran the Schipperke lay down next to me, one on either side. It was a good sit, quiet and peaceful, and so beautiful with all the candles burning and no electric light. I realized I need to do this more often, not just once a year.

It was great to be united with the millions of people all over the globe who were observing Earth Hour, and also, I am part of Tricycle Magazines Big Sit meditation community, so although I live by myself, I never felt alone.

It was cold, quiet, and very soggy at the dog park this morning. Jilly wears herself out fetching Chuckit balls while Kieran, not interested in balls, gets down to the serious business of having a whiz on every single tree.

Im hard at work on the third draft of my novel, and the current chapter has me remembering the 1970 Isla Vista riots all over again. It seems that there were actually three separate episodes with things being somewhat normal in between, but after so many years my memory has compressed it all into one long, scary siege that seemed like it would never end, which is how I wrote it. Ive been away from the novel for while, and now that Im going over it again, I see that there are a lot of things that need tweaking.

As soon as the weather gets dryer, I will be getting the camera out to take pictures all over Portland. I have a new one that Im just learning to use, so that will be fun. And theres gardening and yard work galore to be done; this promises to be a very busy year despite the work situation getting more and more precarious with each day. I will be on swing shift this coming week because the regular swing shift person will be on vacation. 

4 responses to “Sunday, March 29, Portland, Oregon

  1. Yay! Welcome to the blog world! It looks great so far!

  2. Cool! Nice picture of Jilly.

  3. Nice dog picture. I love Corgis.

  4. Thanks! Your Corgi puppy is just adorable.

Leave a Reply

